Castro Laboreiro Pilory

Melgaço
Description
The primitive pillory date 1560 and was dismounted in 1860 and its elements being dispersed by different houses of the village. In 1917, Major Fernando Barreiros, on his visit to Castro Laboreiro, was informed about the whereabouts of some of its elements and about how the pilory looked like, having made a reconstructive drawing of it. Between 1980 and 1985, some of the elements were recovered, under the action of priest Aníbal Rodrigues priest's.

The pillory of Castro Laboreiro, is part of the judicial civil Manueline architecture. The shaft, without decoration, is based on three steps and topped  by a capital cobblestone and pyramidal end.

Location: Melgaço
Casa das Falagueiras

Casa das Falagueiras

In the House of Falagueira in Castro Laboreiro, step back in time to enjoy an unforgettable...
More info
Fábrica de Chocolate

Fábrica de Chocolate

 Enjoy the privileges of nature and taste slowly truly ecological places is an irresistible...
More info
Castrum Villae Restaurant

Castrum Villae Restaurant

Our restaurant Castrum Villae stands out for its traditional and care service, representing a...
More info
MiraCastro Restaurant

MiraCastro Restaurant

MiraCastro restaurant is proud to present a service known by the quality and typical features...
More info
Comments There are no comments from our visitors. Be the first to comment.
Evaluate: Make your evaluation