Casa do Eirô - Town Hall

Mondim de Basto
Description
In 1545 the Church of St Christopher of Mondim de Basto owned a property next to the present-day Town Square. This consisted of an enclosure containing two houses, a farm-yard and pens for live-stock and agricultural implements. It was on this site that, in the 17th century, the manorial houses were built that came to be known as “Eiro de Baixo” and “Eiro de Cima” – the lower and upper Eiros.

In the 19th century these houses belonging to Jose Pinto de Ataíde e Castro of the Pinto Coelho do Paço de Simães family in Felgueiras were modified and extended. This included the building of a grand doorway/gateway in the style of Luis 15th, crowned with his coat of arms. It was here that Comendador Alfredo Álvares de Carvalho Pinto Coelho lived. He died in 1942 and at the end of the 1960s the houses became the property of the Municipality and were adapted for use as a Town Hall.

From 2006 to 2012 various architectural and structural changes were made to the buildings for functional purposes and to fit in with the surroundings, all of which have contributed to the improvement of the historical centre.

With the doorway/gateway and the Chapel forms a remarkable architectural set in the centre town.


Location: Mondim de Basto
Casa das Mourôas - Turismo Rural

Casa das Mourôas - Turismo Rural

Located in the center of Mondim De Basto, rents house unique housing late nineteenth century...
More info

House dating from the end of the sec. XIX, which benefits from a privileged central location,...
More info
Restaurant Chasselik

Restaurant Chasselik

Restaurant ChasselikChasselik restaurant, located on Avenida da Igreja since 1981 serving the...
More info
Comments There are no comments from our visitors. Be the first to comment.
Evaluate: Make your evaluation