“Arcos de Valdevez”’s Pillory

Arcos de Valdevez
Description
In 1515 King Manuel the 1st granted a charter to the village, a fact that increases the construction of the pillory. Until 1700 was placed in the Centre of the Municipal Square, at which point is moved to the Riverside, and later, in 1895, implemented a Square next to the southern facade of the parish church, returning to its original location in 1998. Credited to “João Lopes”, it is a unique specimen, with a pillar torso and conical wheel, featuring a robust shaft wrapped by three small columns, filled by a cup-shaped capital, decorated with national shields and armillary spheres. It is one of the few copies that displays the name of the recorded site.

Location: Arcos de Valdevez
Rebuçados dos Arcos - Doçaria Central

Rebuçados dos Arcos - Doçaria Central

The "Rebuçados dos Arcos" (Sweets of Arcos) of popular origin, similar to other sweets from...
More info
Charutos dos Arcos

Charutos dos Arcos

It is a conventual sweet and one of the symbols of the Arcos de Valdevez confectionery. It has a...
More info
Comments There are no comments from our visitors. Be the first to comment.
Evaluate: Make your evaluation